News & Events

UNSW’s Queen’s Birthday honours

The important contribution to the community and the nation made by several of our UNSW Medicine staff and alumni has been recognised in the 2014 Queen’s Birthday Honours List. We would particularly like to acknowledge the following faculty members:

Professor John Myburgh, Professor of Critical Care in the Faculty of Medicine, was appointed an Officer (AO) of the Order of Australia for distinguished service to medicine as an intensive and critical care practitioner, educator and researcher, and as an international innovator in patient management. Professor Myburgh is also Director of the Division of Critical Care and Trauma at the George Institute for International Health and senior intensive care physician at the St George Hospital, Sydney.

Appointed Members of the Order of Australia (AM):

Conjoint Professor at Prince of Wales Clinical School, UNSW Medicine and Foundation Year Alumnus Professor James Isbister was recognised for significant service to medicine in the fields of haematology and transfusion medicine, and to professional organisations. 

Awarded the Medal (OAM) of the Order of Australia:

Professor Minoti Vivek Apte, Director, Pancreatic Research Group, South Western Sydney Clinical School, was recognised for service to medicine, to tertiary education, and to the Indian community of Sydney.

Professor Geoffrey Driscoll, Conjoint Professor of Reproductive Medicine, was recognised for service to medicine, particularly assisted fertility services, and to the community.

Media contact: Leilah Schubert, UNSW Media Office, 9385 8107