News & Events

2015 Australia Day Honours List

The important contribution to the community and the nation made by several of our UNSW Medicine staffhas been recognised in the2015Australia Day Honours List. I would particularly like to congratulate the following faculty members who received either an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) or a Member of the Order of Australia(AM):


Professor Ken Hillman, Professor of Intensive Care, South Western Sydney Clinical School, University of New South Wales, since 1991; Director, Simpson Centre for Health Services Research, since 1995.

Professor Hillman was recognised for distinguished service to intensive care medicine as a clinician, educator and researcher, as a pioneer in the introduction of the medical emergency team system, and as an advocate for the critically ill.

Professor Phillip Stricker is a prostate cancer specialist and holds a number of senior positions at St Vincent’s Clinic. He has been aConjoint Professor, Discipline of Surgery, UNSW, since 2004.

Professor Stricker was recognised for distinguished service to medicine and medical research, as a leading urologist, a robotic surgery pioneer, a teacher and mentor, and as an advocate for prostate cancer awareness. 

Professor Denis Wakefield, Associate Dean (Strategy & External Relations) and Director of Medical Research, UNSW Medicine, 2008-2014.

Professor Wakefield was recognised for distinguished service to medicine, particularly in the field of ocular immunology and immunopathology, as a clinician, researcher and academic.


Conjoint Associate Professor Roy Beran, Department of Medicine, South Western Sydney Clinical School of Medicine, UNSW, since 2002.

ProfessorBeran was recognised for significant service to medicine, particularly neurology, as a clinician, author and administrator, and to professional medical legal organisations.

Professor Hans Bode is paediatrics specialist and Visiting Professorial Fellow, School of Women's and Children's Health, UNSW, 2012-2015

Professor Bode was recognised forservice to international relations through voluntary health roles in Uganda, Mozambique and Tanzania. 

Associate Professor David Lubowski, Conjoint Associate Professor, St George and Sutherland Clinical School, UNSW for more than 20 years.   

Associate Professor Lubowski was recognised for significant service to medicine in the field of colorectal surgery as a clinician and researcher, and to professional organisations.

Professor Lisa Maher, Program Head and NHMRC Senior Research Fellow, Viral Hepatitis Epidemiology and Prevention Program, Kirby Institute, Faculty of Medicine, UNSW, since 2005.
Professor Maher was recognised for significant service to medicine in the field of epidemiology, particularly through academic research into illicit drug use. 

Conjoint Associate Professor Robert Smee, Department of Radiation Oncology, Prince of Wales Hospital.
Associate Professor Smee was recognised for significant service to medicine as a radiation oncologist, and through professional organisations and leadership roles.

In the Australian honours system,appointments to the Order of Australia confer the highest recognition for outstanding achievement and service.